mugglebloggle

Just another WordPress.com site

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

on February 28, 2012

Hey guys, Its Reagan.  So sorry that we have not been online for so long.  We do have a life that involves ridiculous amounts of school, and for me, dance, so between those two I have had absolutely no time until now to post anything, none the less write a review.  So to get started, Shatter Me.  May I start off with the cover.  I must admit I am a sucker for a good cover.  That term ” never judge a book by it’s cover” sometimes has no meaning to me.  Well, I don’t think anyone can say that this is not a beautiful one.  The girl on the cover really describes the essence of Juliet (the heroine).  The story of shatter me goes something like this.                                                                                                                                                                     Juliet lives in a world where nothing is as it is now.  The birds don’t fly anymore, the weather is out of wack, and the government is now the Reestablishment.  Juliet herself is not what she seems.  Her touch is fatal.  So, society decides to lock her away in a mental institution.  Sounds fun right?  When Adam, a new roommate comes, her world is turned upside down, in more ways than one.  When I heard this, I was like HECK YA this is my kind of book.  I immediately bought it as soon as it hit the kindle storefront.  The first thing I noticed was the crossing out of words and the numbers she used.  Some people thought it was annoying, but I actually enjoyed it.  I mean come on, she’s in a mental institution, she’s not going to be completely sane.  The second thing I noticed was her innocence.  Adorable, who doesn’t want to be innocent?  The last thing I saw was Mafi’s writing.  BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books.
In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.”

The writing reminded me a lot of Lauren DeStefano’s writing in the Chemical Garden Trilogy.  It was gorgeous, exactly how I would have thought and seen the world if I was in Juliet’s position.  The first half of the book, especially the part in the mental ward, was FANTASTIC.  Absolutely adored the novel.  It was mysterious and somewhat haunting.  Then, about halfway through the novel I started to have doubts.

Warner grips my hips and allows his hands to conquer my body. He tastes like peppermint, smells like gardenias. His arms are strong around me, his lips soft, almost sweet against my skin. There’s an electric charge between us I hadn’t anticipated.”

Warner, for those of you who might not know is her creeper kidnapper.  Ok so there are so many things wrong with this quote.  First off, HE IS TRYING TO CONTROL YOU LIKE A NEW TOY AND YOU HAVE A SPARK?!?!?!  Are you kidding me?  Even though he beats her physically and mentally, she often admires his handsome features or HIS EYES!!! Why?  Just no.  The last issue I had with the book is that I have no idea why either of the men in this book wanted Juliet in the first place.  Warner might have said something about torture? Seriously though, why go through the trouble for a girl?  Over all, I think it’s a good book.  I don’t have any strong urge to say READ THIS to random people I pass on the street like I do with some other books like Black by Tedd Dekker or The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.  I don’t hate the book either, so if you want a book that is a fun read, light read that involves romance, this is for you.

Leave a Reply

